top of page
MAKING CONNECTIONS TITLE blue.png

artistic research across borders

18 March – 22 March 2024

Hosted by Choreographic Research Aotearoa (University of Auckland) + Mapping Future Imaginaries Network (RMIT) 

Making Connection: Mapping Creative Encounters connects multi-artform artists with diverse global audiences. The program explores how creative encounters enhance social connection. Creative encounters, often mediated across borders and interfaces, can spark and support relationships with others, with place, with ideas, and offer possibilities for thinking about different futures. Taking place across timezones and in the virtual space of DotDot Studios, artists, performers and presenters share their practices and research in the final event for Making Connection. Held over 18 – 21 March 2024, visitors from any location can visit the exhibition rooms and attend the panels.

 

 

To interact with this experience you will require a laptop or desktop computer, a webcam and microphone.

 

soft borders lifting water_1.3.3.png

A Tilting Body of Precarious Maps and Migrant Constellations

 

Is a free durational interdisciplinary performance event which can be accessed throughout the week, this online space will also host real-time conversations between international artists.

Information Source Sans.png
dotdot-onBlack-logo.png

Choreographic

Research

Aotearoa

MFI logo - white.png
soft borders lifting water_1.3.3.png

DIGITAL ARTISTS

Alys Longley,  Jeffrey Holdaway & Collaborators

Kristian Larsen

 

Adam Naughton

 

Perdita Phillips

Denise Chapman

Linda Knight, Pauliina Rautio, Marina Pliushchik, Kristina Vitek, and Anna Vladimirova 

Alexis Shotwell and Lindsay Kelley

Catalina Hernandez-Cabal and Ana Melissa Caballero

Kimbal Bumstead

Benjamin Sheppard

Leah Sandler

Vector Project:: Becca Weber, Joanna Cook

PANEL SPEAKERS

Wendy Steele::Back to Earth: Sketching Planetary Futures

18 March, 8.15 – 8.45pm Spain.
18 March, 2.15 – 2.45pm NYC.
19 March, 8.15 – 8.45am NZT.
19 March, 6.15 – 6.45am AEDT.


Kate Stevenson, Macarena Campbell-Parra, Joanna Cook, Sarah Knox, alys longley::Making connections across distance and language

18 March, 5 – 6pm Chile.
18 March, 3 – 4pm NYC.
19 March, 9 – 10am NZT.

19 March, 7 – 8am AEDT.

 

Denise Chapman::Wade in Dem Words

18 March, 4 – 4.45pm NYC.
18 March, 9 – 9.45pm UK.
19 March, 8 – 8.45am AEDT.
19 March, 10.15 – 10.45am NZT.


 

Peter Kelly, Seth Brown, James Goring::Mapping Marginalised, Disengaged and Historically Disadvantaged Young People’s Future Imaginaries

21 March, 7.15 – 7.45am UK.
21 March, 6.15 – 6.45pm AEDT. 
21 March, 8.15 – 8.45pm NZT.

 


pavleheidler, Adam Naughton, Janaína Moraes, alys longley, val smith::Botany of Desire

21 March, 8 – 9am UK.
21 March, 9 – 10am Sweden.
21 March, 7 – 8pm AEDT.
21 March, 9 – 10pm NZT.

 


Catalina Hernandez-Cabal and Ana Melissa Caballero::Cartography of a Gesture: Meeting in movement and making place

21 March, 10 – 11am Spain.
21 March, 8 – 9pm AEDT.
21 March, 10 – 10.30pm NZT. 

 


Audio Button.png

Navigation Information

A Tilting Body of Precarious Maps and Migrant Constellations is a series of online worlds and rooms to navigate while getting lost and found with your friends inside artworks created by many artists from around the world.

To interact with this site you will require a laptop or desktop computer, a webcam and microphone.

 

Click and move around the screen to explore. The movement within each room is different – if you can’t see yourself try clicking around the image.

 

To move from room to room look for a portal. Usually, a portal is indicated with a circle or cut-out hole in the artwork. Sometimes portals are deliberately hidden, you will need to hunt for clues to progress to the next room, look for doors, visual indications or audio cues.

 

To go back to the page you have just left press the back button on your browser. To talk to your friends move close to their bubble, you will not hear them if you are too far away. You can mute your audio, look for the microphone icon on your bubble.

 

The speaker icon in the top left of the screen contains controls for the background volume of the rooms.

 

Some rooms contain video popouts, these can be closed by pressing the grey “X” in the top right corner of the screen.

 

The question mark icon contains information about this whole site.

 

The home icon in the bottom left of the screen takes you back to the first page, the place where you entered the site.

Navigation Information
bottom of page